Tournament History

The tournament now known as the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am started out in Rancho Sante Fe, California when Bing Crosby invited some friends to play golf, enjoy a clambake and a raise a little money for charity.

  • Golfing on Poppy Hills


    Monterey Peninsula Country Club replaces Poppy Hills.

  • Golfing at Cypress Point


    Poppy Hills replaces Cypress Point.

  • Spyglass Hill MPCC


    Spyglass Hill replaces MPCC

  • Ten Durein, Dan Searle, and Crosby


    Ted Durein and Dan Searle approach Crosby re reviving the tournament in Pebble Beach

  • 1942

    Tournament suspended during WWII.

  • 1937

    Bing Crosby hosts the first Pro-Amateur Golf Championship in Rancho Sante Fe, California. Sam Snead wins first tournament – First place check is $500

  • Phil Mickelson


    Phil Mickelson wins the event for a fourth time and has this to say “It means a lot to me, it’s a special place for me, an emotional place… my grandfather having caddied here… the overall importance of the tournament to the game and how much I love the place. It just feels great to win this tournament.”

  • Dustin Johnson


    Dustin Johnson wins the tournament a second year in a row

  • Phil Mickelson


    Phil Mickelson wins the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am – First place check is $990,000.

  • Tiger Woods


    Tiger Woods wins and goes on to win the U.S. Open also at Pebble Beach later that year.

  • AT&T Logo


    AT&T becomes title sponsor. Fuzzy Zoeller wins the pro portion as well as the pro-am with partner Mike Evans.

  • 1977 Bing Crosby


    Bing Crosby dies on a golf course in Spain

  • First Bing Crosby Pro-Amateur Golf Championship on Pebble Beach


    First Bing Crosby Pro-Amateur Golf Championship on Pebble Beach, Cypress Point and Monterey Peninsula Country Club. Ed Furgol ties with George Fazio. Sam Snead and Roger Kelly win the pro-am portion.